Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #62459
View in linear mode

Subject: "SB-700 Sensor Window Location?" Previous topic | Next topic
Jamed600 Gold Member Nikonian since 02nd Mar 2013Sun 17-Nov-13 05:12 PM
105 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"SB-700 Sensor Window Location?"

Naperville, US

I am new to Flash Photography but would like to learn. Two questions:
1. The Sensor window is located on the right side (looking from the back) of the flash and I assume when the flash is used as a slave it must be in line of sight of the Pop-up flash being used as the commander. Therefore the SB-700 would have to be mounted to the left of the camera. Now if I wanted to add another SB-700 or 910 on the right side would that flash receive the commander's signal because the sensor window would be pointing away from the camera?
I guess the one on the right could be mounted pointing away from the subject and into an umbrella as long as the umbrella didn't block line of sight to the commander?
2. If I am shooting Aperture Preferred the viewfinder will show my F stop, ISO and I assume the shutter speed that is set the for available light but not the speed that will be used when the flash fires. Is there a way to know this before the shot or must I just take a test shot and then read the file data?

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic

Pete Wilson Gold Member Nikonian since 27th Jun 2004Sun 17-Nov-13 07:24 PM