Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #61936
View in linear mode

Subject: "Two CLS questions" Previous topic | Next topic
Toby01 Silver Member Nikonian since 19th Nov 2012Fri 09-Aug-13 03:33 AM
224 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Two CLS questions"

El Sobrante, US

Hi, Everybody. I have two questions about Nikon's CLS system, even though I have been using it occasionally for several years:

1) My SB700 does not support normal TTL; it only does TTL-BL. If I use the SB700 as the master and a mix of other Nikon strobes for illumination, does CLS work in normal TTL or does the camera meter the flash in TTL-BL mode?

2) I have read many times that you should not use auto-ISO with TTL flash, and I basically understand the reasons for this. Normally, I use flash with the camera in manual, underexpose the ambient by 1/3 to 1 stop, and use the flash with +1/3 to +1 EC to bring exposure to the 'normal metered' value. But I wondered whether I could use auto-ISO with flash to handle situations where the ambient light is changing quickly. Here is my idea: in manual exposure mode, set my aperture and shutter speed as desired, set the camera EC to -1/3 to -1 and use auto-ISO to get the ambient underexposed by the corresponding amount. Then have the flash EC set to offset the camera's underexposure. Would this work? If not, can you explain why not? I will try some experiments, but I'm not sure how accurately I will be able to evaluate the results, particularly if this scenario works variably depending on the environment.

Thanks.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.