nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Print Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #61677
View in linear mode

Subject: "Studio flash with nikon d800" Previous topic | Next topic
Kuranda   AU  Registered since 19th Oct 2012 Sat 22-Jun-13 01:27 PM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Studio flash with nikon d800"



I'm having trouble with overexposing when using studio flash with nikon d800. Lights are Broncolour - not Nikon lights. Anyone have any idea of what settings might be out of whack to cause overexposure? Or recommend camera settings when using studio flash?? Thanks.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Studio flash with nikon d800 mklass Platinum Member As a semi-professional involved in all manner of photographic genres including portraiture, sports, commercial, and events coverage, Mick is always ready to help Nikonians by sharing his deep knowledge of photography and printing. Donor Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014
22nd Jun 2013
1
Reply message RE: Studio flash with nikon d800 MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
22nd Jun 2013
2
Reply message RE: Studio flash with nikon d800 Kuranda
22nd Jun 2013
3
     Reply message RE: Studio flash with nikon d800 MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
22nd Jun 2013
4
          Reply message RE: Studio flash with nikon d800 Kuranda
23rd Jun 2013
5

mklass Platinum Member As a semi-professional involved in all manner of photographic genres including portraiture, sports, commercial, and events coverage, Mick is always ready to help Nikonians by sharing his deep knowledge of photography and printing. Donor Ribbon awarded for his generous support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014   Tacoma, US  Nikonian since 08th Dec 2006 Sat 22-Jun-13 02:54 PM
6447 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Studio flash with nikon d800"
In response to Reply # 0
Sat 22-Jun-13 02:56 PM by mklass


It really doesn't matter what kind of lights they are, studio lights are different than Nikon speedlights. They don't communicate with the camera to control the exposure.

But overexposure is always caused by the same thing- too much light hitting the sensor.

Plan A- I suggest that you get a light meter to sort this out. Then you'll learn a bit about settings.

Plan B- Shoot and adjust. Set ISO to 100. If too bright, step the aperture down (withing the limits of you desired depth of field) or increase the shutter speed until you get it right. You can also, presumably, dial down the power of the lights.

Plan C- Read a good book on lighting (there are lots), then implement Plan A or B.

So there are 4 things you can change to adjust the exposure: ISO, Aperture, Shutter Speed, light source. Depending on the subject and scene, one might be more appropriate than the other.

Can you post a sample shot (with your settings)?

Mick
http://www.mickklassphoto.com
or
Visit my nikonians gallery

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas   US  Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007 Sat 22-Jun-13 05:30 PM
27643 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Studio flash with nikon d800"
In response to Reply # 0



Hi Loris,

Welcome to Nikonians!
Keep in mind that when using Manual flash units like the Broncolour Strobes you must use Manual exposure mode and Manual ISO. Also the cameras meter will only measure the ambient light level in the room and can not compensate for the additional light provided by the Strobe(s). Therefore you will need a Flash Meter or use the Trial and Error method to adjust the flash power based on the aperture that you prefer using the histogram. When using strobes, typically the ISO should be set to the base setting: ISO 100 (D800).

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

    
Kuranda   AU  Registered since 19th Oct 2012 Sat 22-Jun-13 05:40 PM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Studio flash with nikon d800"
In response to Reply # 2



Hi...I did have exposure set to TTL......will try again when in studio. Thanks for help.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

        
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas   US  Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007 Sat 22-Jun-13 06:33 PM
27643 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Studio flash with nikon d800"
In response to Reply # 3



Hi Loris,

Broncolour Flash units do not support TTL flash control.
They are 100% Manual.

If you are using the built - in Speedlight to trigger the Strobes via their optical slave, you should set it to Manual with the ratio at 1/128th power to minimize the built-in Speedlights contribution to the exposure.

Again you will have to use Manual exposure mode and adjust the flash power on the Strobe(s) as required to provide a correct exposure.

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

            
Kuranda   AU  Registered since 19th Oct 2012 Sun 23-Jun-13 06:07 AM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Studio flash with nikon d800"
In response to Reply # 4



Thanks, Marty. I was using a sync cord and not the nikon system.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #61677 Previous topic | Next topic