Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #61191
View in linear mode

Subject: "Can you recommend a 3rd Party Flash?" Previous topic | Next topic
torwood Silver Member Nikonian since 06th Dec 2010Mon 08-Apr-13 01:20 PM
666 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Can you recommend a 3rd Party Flash?"

Jefferson Hills, US

Hi guys. I am a fairly experienced hobbiest photographer, but I have almost no experience with flash photography. My use of flash is pretty much limited to outdoor fill flash, an occasional use of flash when shooting architectural interiors, and on-camera flash for indoor casual shots of my family. For most outdoor fill flash, the built-in flash works fine. But, indoors, I prefer to bounce flash. A few years ago, I bought an SB400, which is a great little flash that fits easily in a small camera bag. I use a D7000 for most subjects, but I do like to shoot candids with my old D50 from time to time.

But, it only tilts, and does not swivel. I find that most of my candids and family portraits are shot in vertical orientation. The SB400 cannot swivel, so it is not very useful as a bounce flash in this orientation.