Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #61074
View in linear mode

Subject: "Alien Bees for Reception and photo booth" Previous topic | Next topic
nikonian10 Registered since 30th Oct 2008Thu 21-Mar-13 01:45 PM
105 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Alien Bees for Reception and photo booth"

Winnipeg, CA

I'm a wedding photographer looking to purchase an Alien Bee but I need some advice on which one to get; 400, 800 or 1600.

I need a strobe for two main purposes, for reception in order to light the hall. I would use it to bounce the light off of ceiling as well as wall. The size of halls are various sizes, would one of Alien Bee be sufficient and which one? Is anyone using this setup for lighting up the reception venues? Any other ideas or suggestions?

The second purpose of AB would be to use the same one in a photo booth where a quick recycle time is needed.
How do white lightning strobes compare to Alien Bees? Is it worth to spend a bit more for more power?
One last thing, I have a D600 so I can push the ISO quite high in response to lower power output from the strobes and quicker recycle times.

Twitter
Facebook

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Alien Bees for Reception and photo booth
HBB Moderator Hal is an expert in several areas, including CLS Awarded for his excellent article contributions to the Resources.
22nd Mar 2013
Hawk Eyes
23rd Mar 2013
PeterBeckett Gold Member
22nd Mar 2013