Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #60963
View in linear mode

Subject: "no commander mode?!? what to do instead?" Previous topic | Next topic
shady757 Registered since 04th Mar 2013Mon 04-Mar-13 05:47 PM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"no commander mode?!? what to do instead?"

US

I'm no pro and I have a very simple lighting setup that I use ALL the time for some tabletop shots of things my wife sells on Etsy. Basically I just use the built-in flash (commander mode) to control a single SB-600 wirelessly.

Turns out my little daughter got hold of my camera and now my trusty ol' D80 is in need of some repair, but instead I was thinking it's time to just upgrade to a new body. I was looking at the new D3200 and D5200 and almost bought the 5200, when i luckily noticed on a review that Nikon chose to get rid of commander functionality of all of the lower level cameras. AND they took away the motor to run AF on older lenses! This is a total bummer - a) i have a couple older AF lenses i love, but most of all i used wireless commander mode ALL THE TIME. Seems to me the wireless commander function is software and a really petty and crappy thing to get rid of.

Anyway, does anyone know of any possible way to still get these cameras to do wireless triggering? firmware modifications or anything? I know that's a stretch probably...