Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #60516
View in linear mode

Subject: "Speedlights" Previous topic | Next topic
photomia Silver Member Nikonian since 15th Jan 2011Sat 12-Jan-13 03:37 AM
163 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Speedlights"

MD, US

I have 2 SB-800s and one SB-910. I shoot with a D700. Today I was trying to set up a studio shot (I'm new to this) using main, fill and background lights. I then discovered that the pop-up flash on my 700 would handle only two groups and since I wanted each light to be at a different power level, I was unable to use a 3-light set-up. Any suggestions on what external trigger I should use to handle 3 groups? Do I need an SU-800 or something else?

Also, for those who do studio portraiture, instead of umbrellas, would you suggest a soft box or Phototeck softlighter. I am currently working on business head shots, but also want to use this set-up for my grandchildren (when they decide to sit still!)

As always, thank you...

Pat

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Speedlights
luckyphoto Silver Member
12th Jan 2013
photomia Silver Member
12th Jan 2013
photomia Silver Member
12th Jan 2013
luckyphoto Silver Member
12th Jan 2013
photomia Silver Member
12th Jan 2013
HBB Moderator
13th Jan 2013
cliddell Silver Member
14th Jan 2013
HBB Moderator
14th Jan 2013
JBS101 Silver Member
14th Jan 2013
leebaylin Silver Member
15th Jan 2013
JBS101 Silver Member
15th Jan 2013
sl33py Silver Member
16th Jan 2013