Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #59604
View in linear mode

Subject: "Flash Sync Question" Previous topic | Next topic
mmontanaro Registered since 24th Oct 2012Wed 24-Oct-12 06:36 PM
11 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Flash Sync Question"


US
          

I have a two part question. I've always been a "speed light" photographer but recently purchased a new Photoflex Starflash 300 mono-light.

I found out the hard way that using Nikon's CLS system, even with the flashes set to manual power, will trigger the monolight prematurely when using its optical trigger.

I just got my D800 which is the first camera I've had in a long time with a PC sync jack.

So my plan is to trigger the monolight via the PC sync cable and put the speedlights on manual power and trigger them remotely via the SU-800 commander unit or SC-29 sync cable.

So my first question is has anyone else done it this way and are there any other gotcha's I haven't thought about?

My second question- I've read horror stories about connecting monolights to cameras and the voltages frying the camera. They make buffer attachments for this to isolate the electrical circuits. But with a brand new, modern light and new camera, is this a necessity or is this a fear mostly with older lights and cameras?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Keep clickin'!

Marlo Montanaro

http://www.marlopix.com
http://marlomontanaro.wordpress.com
http://www.facebook.com/marlopix

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Flash Sync Question
Arkayem Moderator
24th Oct 2012
1
Reply message RE: Flash Sync Question
MEMcD Moderator
25th Oct 2012
2
Reply message RE: Flash Sync Question
mmontanaro
25th Oct 2012
3
     Reply message RE: Flash Sync Question
cliddell Silver Member
26th Oct 2012
4
Reply message RE: Flash Sync Question
ctadin Silver Member
27th Oct 2012
5
Reply message RE: Flash Sync Question
mmontanaro
28th Oct 2012
6

Arkayem Moderator Awarded for his high level skills in flash photography Charter MemberWed 24-Oct-12 06:56 PM
5993 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Flash Sync Question"
In response to Reply # 0


Richmond Hill, GA (Savannah), US
          

>I have a two part question. I've always been a "speed
>light" photographer but recently purchased a new
>Photoflex Starflash 300 mono-light.
>
>I found out the hard way that using Nikon's CLS system, even
>with the flashes set to manual power, will trigger the
>monolight prematurely when using its optical trigger.
>
>I just got my D800 which is the first camera I've had in a
>long time with a PC sync jack.
>
>So my plan is to trigger the monolight via the PC sync cable
>and put the speedlights on manual power and trigger them
>remotely via the SU-800 commander unit or SC-29 sync cable.
>
>So my first question is has anyone else done it this way and
>are there any other gotcha's I haven't thought about?

I think this will work as long as you are using an SU800 as the commander. I haven't checked my D800, but on older Nikon DSLRs (like the D200), the PC Sync output was not generated when using the internal CLS Commander (the one that used the pop-up flash).

>My second question- I've read horror stories about connecting
>monolights to cameras and the voltages frying the camera.
>They make buffer attachments for this to isolate the
>electrical circuits. But with a brand new, modern light and
>new camera, is this a necessity or is this a fear mostly with
>older lights and cameras?

The use of a Wein Safe-Sync is recommended if you don't have total knowledge of the voltages. There are lots of these to choose from. Here's one: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/245292-REG/Wein_W990560_Safe_Sync_Hot_Shoe_to.html/BI/4775/KBID/5289/

Russ
Retired Professional Photographer
Nikonian Moderator
Russell MacDonald Photography
Nikon CLS Practical Guide

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007Thu 25-Oct-12 03:56 AM
25891 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Flash Sync Question"
In response to Reply # 0


US
          

Hi Marlo,

>I found out the hard way that using Nikon's CLS system, even
>with the flashes set to manual power, will trigger the
>monolight prematurely when using its optical trigger.

True! The pre-flash sequence of i-TTL flash control will trigger an optical slave before the shutter opens.
If you add a Nikon SU-4 to your Remote SB-600 and set the Remote SB-900 in SU-4 (optical slave)mode then set the built-in Speedlight or on-camera Speedlight in Manual flash mode (NOT Commander or Master mode) it will reliably trigger all of the Speedlights in sync with your monolight(s) in optical slave mode.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
mmontanaro Registered since 24th Oct 2012Thu 25-Oct-12 10:23 PM
11 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Flash Sync Question"
In response to Reply # 2


US
          

OK, so carrying this a bit further.... what about using the PC jack on an SB-900 to trigger the studio light?

According to the Nikon CLS manual... "Nikon provides a PC port on the SB-900 so it can be used as a studio light trigger even with cameras that don't have a PC port."

I'll experiment a bit...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Keep clickin'!

Marlo Montanaro

http://www.marlopix.com
http://marlomontanaro.wordpress.com
http://www.facebook.com/marlopix

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
cliddell Silver Member Nikonian since 10th Oct 2006Fri 26-Oct-12 02:37 PM
996 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Flash Sync Question"
In response to Reply # 3


Pietermaritzburg, ZA
          

>OK, so carrying this a bit further.... what about using the
>PC jack on an SB-900 to trigger the studio light?
>
>According to the Nikon CLS manual... "Nikon provides a PC
>port on the SB-900 so it can be used as a studio light trigger
>even with cameras that don't have a PC port."
>
>I'll experiment a bit...

====

Hi Marlo,
Yes, and if the SB-900 is like the SB-800 the PC socket is threaded - no more leads falling out but I think you will have to be ready to PAY for a PC lead with a threaded end :<(

Regards,
Clive Liddell
Pietermaritzburg
South Africa

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

ctadin Silver Member Nikonian since 28th Oct 2008Sat 27-Oct-12 02:45 PM
959 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Flash Sync Question"
In response to Reply # 0


St Louis, US
          

Marlo,

>My second question- I've read horror stories about connecting
>monolights to cameras and the voltages frying the camera.
>They make buffer attachments for this to isolate the
>electrical circuits. But with a brand new, modern light and
>new camera, is this a necessity or is this a fear mostly with
>older lights and cameras?

Here is a link to Photo Strobe Trigger Voltages: http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

Best of luck.

Cheryl

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
mmontanaro Registered since 24th Oct 2012Sun 28-Oct-12 10:23 PM
11 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#6. "RE: Flash Sync Question"
In response to Reply # 5


US
          

Thanks for that link ctadin. Unfortunately my strobe isn't listed... so I did a little measuring myself.

The Photoflex Starflash 300 trigger voltage is 3.8V DC- well within the 6V threshold everyone talks about as being safe. I plugged it into my D800 and triggered it nicely.

I also had the SU-800 fire my SB-900 in both TTL and manual mode with no problems- everything sync'd just fine!

Awesomeness.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Keep clickin'!

Marlo Montanaro

http://www.marlopix.com
http://marlomontanaro.wordpress.com
http://www.facebook.com/marlopix

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #59604 Previous topic | Next topic


Take the Nikonians Tour and learn more about being a Nikonian Wiki /FAQ /Help Listen to our MP3 photography radio channels Find anything on Nikon and imaging technology - fast!

Copyright © Nikonians 2000, 2014
All Rights Reserved

Nikonians®, NikoScope® and NikoniansAcademy™ are trademarks owned by Nikonians.org.
Nikon®, Nikonos® and Nikkor® are registered trademarks of Nikon Corporation.