Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #30593
View in linear mode

Subject: "Slave with SB800 -- Newbie here -- Moderators plz have ..." Previous topic | Next topic
tulasinandan Registered since 09th Jul 2007Mon 31-Mar-08 10:13 PM
126 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Slave with SB800 -- Newbie here -- Moderators plz have a look"
Wed 02-Apr-08 05:03 PM by tulasinandan

US

EDIT: The answers in this thread might be very useful for a lot of newbies. If you think it is worthwhile, could you plz make it sticky??

Dear All,

I have never done flash photography before and want to buy one. I have tried to read a little bit about flash lights and I have come to the conclusion that I will go for SB800. A lot of the times, I end up taking pictures for my friends' parties which are indoors and in the evenings/nights. I sometimes get portrait requests too and had two chances to try my hand in small concerts. So I was thinking that when I'm going to spend ~$320 for SB800, why not buy one cheap slave too? Well do you think buying one of the Sunpak/Bower/Opteka flashes would be a good idea? Well I have a couple of things on my mind about it:

1) My primary use would be as a slave set up somewhere behind/sideways of the subjects.
2) I might use such "generic" flash on my point and shoot camera too which is not a Nikon.
3) I am a student and my budget is very limited. The only motivation is that if I'm spending ~$320, I might consider shelling out $400 and get a better system of lighting.