Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #20903
View in linear mode

Subject: "Learning to shoot in M mode with SB 600" Previous topic | Next topic
CLL Registered since 12th Jan 2007Fri 09-Feb-07 01:19 PM
14 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Learning to shoot in M mode with SB 600"

MY

I am new in DSLR and have recently bought a D80 and SB600.

I am learning to shoot in M mode and when I meter, I was taught to look at the light meter to gauge my exposure settings.

However when I am shooting indoors, (without the SB600) using a particular setting (ie 1/100 and f/5), the light meter shows that I am underexposing my shot and the flash sign will start blinking. After I attach the SB 600 and switch it on, using the same settings, I discover that despite the SB 600, the light meter still shows that I am underexposing my shot.

Having said that, the picture that I frame will not be that underexposed.

Is this what iTTL means? How then does one learn to meter with the SB600 on board?

I shoot using Centred Metering and for in doors, use iTTL.

I apreciate your comments and opinions in this matter.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Learning to shoot in M mode with SB 600
Exposure1
09th Feb 2007
CLL
09th Feb 2007
Exposure1
09th Feb 2007
HBB Moderator
09th Feb 2007
Exposure1
09th Feb 2007
CLL
09th Feb 2007
HBB Moderator
10th Feb 2007
Exposure1
10th Feb 2007
CLL
10th Feb 2007
HBB Moderator
11th Feb 2007

Exposure1 Registered since 08th May 2006Fri 09-Feb-07 01:36 PM