Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D60/D50/D40 (Public) topic #30585
View in linear mode

Subject: "Is now a good time to buy a D40?" Previous topic | Next topic
Zayzehl Registered since 20th Jul 2008Mon 21-Jul-08 04:19 PM
2 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Is now a good time to buy a D40?"
Mon 21-Jul-08 04:20 PM by Zayzehl

US

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner to photography looking to get a start with an entry-level DSLR and classes at my university. After reading tons of good things about the Nikon D40, I think I'm ready to buy the kit with just the 18-55mm lens, the price for which seems to be about $470 or so.

However, as a poor college student, I'm trying to be as efficient with my money as possible, and I'm hoping to avoid a situation where I buy the D40 and then the price drops soon after when Nikon releases a new line of cameras. Should I be worried about this at all, or should I just go ahead and buy the camera now? Thanks in advance.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Is now a good time to buy a D40?
Asgard Administrator
21st Jul 2008
typerico
21st Jul 2008
blw Moderator
21st Jul 2008
Goodie
21st Jul 2008
AlohaTravel
22nd Jul 2008
Replytoken Silver Member
22nd Jul 2008
MotoMannequin Moderator
22nd Jul 2008
Zayzehl
23rd Jul 2008
Duskshooter
24th Jul 2008
Dan__
24th Jul 2008
Drop Bear
24th Jul 2008

Asgard Administrator He is your Chief Guardian Angel at the Helpdesk and knows a lot about a lot Nikonian since 07th Apr 2004Mon 21-Jul-08 05:10 PM