Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D60/D50/D40 (Public) topic #22724
View in linear mode

Subject: "Thinking about getting a D40x" Previous topic | Next topic
stephen75 Registered since 31st Oct 2007Wed 31-Oct-07 02:31 PM
10 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Thinking about getting a D40x"

Johnson City, US

Hi all, I'm new to this forum and photography in general. I found this site while researching the D40x camera.

I would be best classified as a beginning photographer, I've taken quite a few photos in my lifetime so far, but never used anything more than point and shoot type digital and film cameras.

My wife has suggested (and agreed!) to get me a Nikon D40x for Christmas.

Through my research so far, I think the D40x is the best bang for the buck for my budget.

Is it easy enough to use for a beginner? Although Nikon is claiming it is, I'd like to hear of real world experiences instead.

I have seen some absolutely stunning photographs taken with this camera, but is it unreasonable to expect that I may not get the same results? Is it more about style and experience etc?

My main goal is to learn all I can about photography and proper use of settings for great looking pictures. I think the D40x will be sufficient enough for my needs (I'm not going to be doing a lot of photographs, just casually) and I can always upgrade later if I decide it's not enough

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Thinking about getting a D40x
timkoo
31st Oct 2007
abaron
31st Oct 2007
dclarhorn Moderator
31st Oct 2007