Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D60/D50/D40 (Public) topic #18246
View in linear mode

Subject: "sb400 + D50 = uneven shots" Previous topic | Next topic
rubenmv Registered since 24th Feb 2007Wed 30-May-07 03:25 AM
18 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"sb400 + D50 = uneven shots"

Hi all:

I've been playing for a few months now with a SB400 on my D50. I bought that flash unit and a 50mm/1.8 lens on my last trip to NYC.

Back then, I immediately tried them both, and was really difficult to get good pictures for a while. I've always used midrange, slow zooms and having lots of light with such a clear lens just got me off-balance; lots and lots of over (and under) exposed shots.

So i went ahead and started using them separately, and it got a bit better. the photos with the 50mm are ok ( mostly, the very shallow depth wide open sometimes is a challenge) but with the flash I'm not doing ok.

First of all, I only can get semi-consistent exposures in full auto mode. If I go to A or S modes, then from one shot to another, things go bad, really under or totally blown. Maybe my flash unit is faulty?

With the pop-up flash, shots would _always_ be right, no matter what, always dead-on exposure on any mode.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
Rubén

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: sb400 + D50 = uneven shots
SCMGoBlue
30th May 2007
rubenmv
30th May 2007
alembicbassman
30th May 2007
edmun
31st May 2007
rubenmv
31st May 2007

SCMGoBlue Registered since 24th Mar 2007Wed 30-May-07 03:36 AM