Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D90/D80/D70 (Public) topic #251876
View in linear mode

Subject: "Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunc..." Previous topic | Next topic
opoloko Registered since 26th Sep 2012Wed 26-Sep-12 06:55 PM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunction??"


GB
          

Hi all,

for the first time I decided to use a cable shutter release as
I need to take long exposure pictures one after the other,
without staying near the camera. I found on eBay several
models by Shoot brand like this one

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Timer-Remote-Shutter-Release-for-NIKON-D70s-D80-MC-DC1-/220769581310?pt=UK_Photography_DigitalCamAccess_RL&hash=item3366e478fe

I received the item, set the camera on Manual/Bulb/Manual
focus etc., but as soon as I connect the cable to the camera
it starts exposing..even without batteries in the remote. If I
connect it before switching on the camera, as soon as I switch
on the camera it starts exposing. I also tried setting
exposure time to 2 seconds..it takes the picture but when
finished it does not show the picture just taken until I
disconnect the shutter cable.

The odd thing is also that after this first picture, I cannot
use anymore the main shutter button on the camera or the one
on the remote..it just does not work. But as soon as I
disconnect the remote the previous picture appears on the back
screen, and I can use again the camera or connect the remote
but only for one picture..

If I set the timer on the remote shutter it expose correctly
the first picture, for example for 60s, but then it looks like
the camera 'hangs' without showing the picture taking and
unable to take any other picture until I disconnect the remote
shutter, the previous picture appear on the screen and all
goes back to normal.


Any idea? Could it be the cheap remote shutter cable broken?
Is it a problem of the camera? Any advice is welcome...thanks!

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera mal...
MEMcD Moderator
26th Sep 2012
1
Reply message RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera mal...
opoloko
26th Sep 2012
2
     Reply message RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera mal...
MEMcD Moderator
27th Sep 2012
3
          Reply message RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera mal...
spanglerokapi Silver Member
27th Sep 2012
4
               Reply message RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera mal...
opoloko
27th Sep 2012
5

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007Wed 26-Sep-12 11:11 PM
25943 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunction??"
In response to Reply # 0


US
          

Hi ______,

Welcome to Nikonians!
Sorry to hear of your problem.
It sounds like there is a short in the cable.
I would return it.

BTW:

We always encourage our members to fill in their real first and last names, and
have made that issue a part of our Terms of Use.

The intent is to foster a community of "real people" instead of
mysterious web-personalities with anonymous screen names. Doing this helps to
establish and maintain a safe, civil and friendly environment.

Thanks in advance.

Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
opoloko Registered since 26th Sep 2012Wed 26-Sep-12 11:47 PM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunction??"
In response to Reply # 1


GB
          

Hi,

thanks a lot for your reply, and sorry about the real name..I can perfectly understand and I like it so I changed it

I thought it was some sort of short, so I asked the vendor for a refund and ended up buying a better quality one from Amazon.

I'm into astrophotography and during winter I like to leave the camera outside taking series of long exposures attached to the telescope and me inside taking the pictures via usb to the computer. Sadly there's no way of triggering the shutter for bulb mode via usb so the only alternative is using a timer remote shutter.

Thanks again for your suggestion!

Adr

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007Thu 27-Sep-12 07:10 AM
25943 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunction??"
In response to Reply # 2


US
          

Hi Adrian,

Again, Welcome to Nikonians!

Thanks for filling in your name.

Good luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

            
spanglerokapi Silver Member Nikonian since 22nd May 2008Thu 27-Sep-12 07:20 PM
109 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunction??"
In response to Reply # 3


Aylesbury, GB
          

I have the same problem using an eBay remote with my D80, on stripping the remote down other than being very poorly made I can find no explanation to the problem and can only assume that the shoddy quality extends to the plug on the end of the cable.

Andrew

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
opoloko Registered since 26th Sep 2012Thu 27-Sep-12 08:45 PM
3 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Nikon D80 cable shutter MC-DC1: cable or camera malfunction??"
In response to Reply # 4


GB
          

Thanks,

I eventually got a refund without even returning the item, and got a better one from Amazon..arriving tomorrow so let's hope it will be good this time!

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D90/D80/D70 (Public) topic #251876 Previous topic | Next topic


Take the Nikonians Tour and learn more about being a Nikonian Wiki /FAQ /Help Listen to our MP3 photography radio channels Find anything on Nikon and imaging technology - fast!

Copyright © Nikonians 2000, 2014
All Rights Reserved

Nikonians®, NikoScope® and NikoniansAcademy™ are trademarks owned by Nikonians.org.
Nikon®, Nikonos® and Nikkor® are registered trademarks of Nikon Corporation.