Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D90/D80/D70 (Public) topic #249095
View in linear mode

Subject: "Nikon D70s Card Problem: DCIM, DCIO, lost pictures" Previous topic | Next topic
bunkermunkey4 Registered since 14th Aug 2011Sun 14-Aug-11 03:03 PM
4 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Nikon D70s Card Problem: DCIM, DCIO, lost pictures"

US

I'm a 22yr old amateur photographer shooting in Puerto Rico for a few weeks. I signed up for nikonians today because I really need some help!

Yesterday, I was shooting in a rainforest, and my battery was getting low, but it made it through the whole day. I checked most my pictures after taking them and everything looked great. But when I went to transfer my pictures last night, only the last 9 pictures were there - in a DCIM folder. There is also a DCIO folder, which was 10 or so files with random symbolic text file names - all 0 bytes. There is also a DCIO " " folder, but I can't open it. I don't see another folder or anywhere else that might be hiding hundreds of picture files.

Unfortunately, I don't have a card reader with me, so I'm forced to access the card through a USB cord connected directly to the camera. I tried using a mac and a pc, but the results are the same. I'm using a Nikon D70s, and the memory card is a Kingston 16GB 133x "Elite Pro" compact flash card, like this: http://megapchardware.com/zencart/images/Kingston%20CF16GBS216GB%20Compact%20Flash%20Elite%20Pro.jpg