Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D90/D80/D70 (Public) topic #244030
View in linear mode

Subject: "Upgrade from D50" Previous topic | Next topic
rnield Registered since 16th Jul 2010Tue 03-Aug-10 10:02 PM
7 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Upgrade from D50"

GB

i currently have a D50 and am considering upgrading. i am a freelance journalist who does a lot of travelling with my reporting (mainly in the Middle East and South America) and i want to be able to sell photographs from my travels to add an extra source of income (and enjoyment).

i started to use the D50 regularly about a year ago, and am now learning to manipulate aperture, shutter speed, ISO, manual focus etc, independently of the scene mode offerings. i typically shoot 2-3k images on a trip, and travel roughly every 3 months.

what i would like to know is first whether i am right in thinking i'd be well-advised to upgrade my camera body in order to increase the resolution, so i can produce a higher quality image / larger publishable image at 300dpi?

second - if i do need to upgrade, then how far do i need to go? i've looked at D90, D5000, D300s and D700 and found myself unable to determine which i need, given the combination of being at a relatively early point on the digital photography learning curve, but still wanting to produce publishable-quality images.

i only have basic lenses too, the 18-55mm kit lens and the AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm 4-5.6G.

any advice greatly appreciated!!

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Upgrade from D50