View NX2 Annoyance - Bug or Incorrect Setting?
Ever since I upgraded to View Nx2 Version 2.3.0 (Mac), I've been faced with an annoyance that I've come across on some previous versions as well. When you're viewing full images in the browser, if you make a change to the rating label, it executes the change, and immediately the image disappears and you get a blank browser screen with the message "no image selected". When you click out of that, you're back at the thumbnail screen, and at the very top of the list of displayed thumbnails. This is time-consuming and annoying when you're sorting through hundreds of images. Is this a programming bug or do I have some setting incorrect? It seems like every upgrade of this software comes with some new enhancement, together with some annoying new little bug(s). If this can't be changed, I've either got to go back to a previous version, or pick new browsing/cataloging software.
ETA: While I'm at it - if I do my labeling in another program, like Photo Mechanic, LR, or Aperture, are those labels interrogated the same way in all other applications? For clarification, by labeling, I mean ranking the images with the different colored and numbered circles that you assign to an image through selection from a pick list.
ETA: Just upgraded to Version 2.3.1 and it still does the same thing.
#1. "RE: View NX2 Annoyance - Bug or Incorrect Setting?" | In response to Reply # 0
cliddell Nikonian since 10th Oct 2006Mon 16-Apr-12 04:33 PM
If you have selected "by" a certain rating then if you change that rating the image will sort of disappear :>) Of course it as still there and will appear if you change the rating you wish to view appropriately (or to all).
Visit my Nikonians gallery.
#2. "RE: View NX2 Annoyance - Bug or Incorrect Setting?" | In response to Reply # 1
Hotswimmer Nikonian since 01st Apr 2008Mon 16-Apr-12 09:56 PM
I appreciate your thoughts and I understand what you're trying to say, and it makes sense, but let me clarify the problem. Yes, if I'm only displaying images with a rating of 1, and I change the rating of an image to 0, that image will disappear from view. All good - I want that to happen.
The bug is this. It used to be that when I changed the rating of an image and it disappeared from the browser, it was replaced by the next image in the sequence. That was good, because it let me rapidly sort through a bunch of images and change their rankings, if I so chose. What's happening in this latest release is that instead of the re-ranked image being replaced by the next image in the sequence, it's replaced by a gray screen, and a message that says "No file selected". If I click out of that screen, it kicks me out of browser view into thumbnail view, and takes me back to the top of the list of thumbnails.
So now, I have to manually scroll down through the thumbnails to find and manually select the next image in the sequence, the one following the image whose ranking I changed. This makes me insane when I'm working with a set of several hundred images.