Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Digital postprocessing & workflow (Public) Nikon & Nikonians Imaging Software (Public) topic #807
View in linear mode

Subject: "Can NX2 do these things?" Previous topic | Next topic
Mike46 Registered since 12th Dec 2008Mon 23-Nov-09 02:37 AM
81 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Can NX2 do these things?"

US

I am a novice post processer but am using the trial version of NX2 and can do many basic things. However, my goal is to become more proficient with black and white and I want to be able to apply subtle toning effects such as putting a very light sepia tone as a final touch. It appears NX2 can do this? It ticks me off that Silver Efex Pro, designed by Nik software, is an incompatible Photoshop plug-in. In essence, how powerful is the black and white processing in NX2 vis-a-vis Lightroom or CS3?

I also like the effects in the Lightroom Beta called "Presence, Vibrance, Luminance and Clarity." Will NX2 do these things also under different names?

I don't care too much about image management since I don't process that many images. Instead of playing around with all these different programs I want to learn one really well. NX2 seems like the easier program to learn. If I go with NX2 I'll get Jason Odell's book and dive in.

Mike46

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic

C_Otto Gold Member Nikonian since 12th Apr 2002Mon 23-Nov-09 03:15 AM