Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Digital postprocessing & workflow (Public) Nikon & Nikonians Imaging Software (Public) topic #5960
View in linear mode

Subject: "Downsizing NEF to JPEG for web" Previous topic | Next topic
William Rounds Gold Member Nikonian since 25th Mar 2011Tue 05-Apr-11 04:01 PM
356 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Downsizing NEF to JPEG for web"
Tue 05-Apr-11 04:10 PM by William Rounds

Rambouillet, FR

I'm pretty new to digital processing so this may have been answered many times before. How do I get the best image quality when converting a NEF file to a very small JPEG file for web posting? I use primarily Capture NX2 but I also have purchased DxO.

I guess my question is more related to sequence than anything else. Is it preferable to make any and all modifications to a NEF file first, then save as a small JPEG file? Or should I downsize first and then make changes, proceed with sharpening, etc? Maybe it doesn't make any difference.

Anyway, I notice that while my NEF files look great on my computer screen, but my web sized jpegs generally look awful, so I'm definitely doing something wrong.

I posted 4 photographs under Wildlife Photography, under my name of course William Rounds and perhaps someone with a sharp eye could critique them for me, letting me know how I might be able to obtain better results. Thanks for your input.

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Downsizing NEF to JPEG for web
robsb Platinum Member
06th Apr 2011
William Rounds Gold Member
06th Apr 2011