Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D7100, D7000 (Public) topic #28267
View in linear mode

Subject: "RE: Birding with D7100" Previous topic | Next topic
ericbowles Moderator Awarded for his in-depth knowledge and high level skills in various areas, especially Landscape and Wildlife Photoghraphy Nikonian since 25th Nov 2005Tue 18-Jun-13 07:35 PM
8145 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Birding with D7100"
In response to In response to 0

Atlanta, US

I always use AF-C for wildlife. You can get away with AF-S for perched subjects. I have some bad experience with AF-A and never use it.

Your shutter speed of 1/1000 or faster makes sense for moving subjects. I'd probably be shooting at f/6.3 or f/7.1 with your Nikon 70-300 or Sigma 150-500 since they have a variable aperture. With an f/4 lens I'd be shooting at f/4.5-5.6.

I use 51 points rather than 11 points. This is a recent change because the 11 point approach does not use enough cross sensors. The advantage to 11 point is the ability to scroll across the frame quickly.

For perched subjects I try to use single point AF. For a fishing or hunting subject, I try to use single point as well. For more active subjects I move to Dynamic 9 point. I use Dynamic 9 point for birds in flight.