nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D60/D50/D40 (Public) topic #43826
View in linear mode

Subject: "RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)" Previous topic | Next topic
SMMAssociates Registered since 28th Aug 2011Mon 29-Aug-11 05:31 PM
13 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)"
In response to In response to 4


US
          

Marty:

Heck of a pile of money for an "entry level" camera body ....

Actually, the silly part, IMHO, is that being able to tell the camera body manually what lens aperture you're using, and let it pick a shutter speed, or provide some kind of match-needle style metering has to be about as simple a function as you could ask for. My old SPIIa could do that, as can the N6006, which isn't quite "entry level", but close.

Come to think of it, my circa 1972 Exacta could do that - I've still got a 500mm (Spiratone) tele (not a Cad) that uses two rings - one to stop the lens down for metering, and a second one to crank it back open for focusing. Ready to shoot, and you turn the second ring to the stop. Not quick, but way simpler than an automatic stopdown. The basic Exacta setup used a preset lens well - same idea, except that pressing the shutter button stopped the lens down, and you had to crank it back open.

No need to tell the body what aperture you're using. The meter is trying to hit a grey-scale point by looking at the light coming in, and comparing that with the shutter speed currently set. Letting it tell you to change the speed to get closer, or to automatically set one it likes, would be trivial.

Aperture-priority mode needs to be smart enough to just tell you if you hit a shutter speed it can't set - too fast, or too long.... Manual mode ought to just tell you that you've picked a shutter speed and aperture combo that is correct (without really knowing what the aperture is).

Now, I'm getting upset ....

(Well, not really.... Just kind of funny to find a "legacy" lens that will mount, but won't work at all without an external meter, given that the one in the camera is smarter than I am .)

aolander:

Not a problem.... I can get obscure at times....

Regards,

Why just a quick note when you can write a novel?

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote

This is a hot, active topic!Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad) [View all] , SMMAssociates , Sun 28-Aug-11 08:56 AM
 
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
aolander Silver Member
28th Aug 2011
1
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
28th Aug 2011
2
     Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
29th Aug 2011
4
          Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
29th Aug 2011
5
               Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
30th Aug 2011
6
                    Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
30th Aug 2011
7
                         Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
briantilley Moderator Deep knowledge of bodies and lens; high level photography skills
30th Aug 2011
8
                              Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
31st Aug 2011
9
                                   Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
briantilley Moderator Deep knowledge of bodies and lens; high level photography skills
31st Aug 2011
10
                                        Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
31st Aug 2011
11
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
aolander Silver Member
28th Aug 2011
3
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
blw Moderator Awarded for his high level of expertise in various areas
05th Sep 2011
12
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
05th Sep 2011
13
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
gkaiseril Gold Member
06th Sep 2011
14
     Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
06th Sep 2011
15
          Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
gkaiseril Gold Member
06th Sep 2011
16
          Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
07th Sep 2011
17
               Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
07th Sep 2011
18
                    Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
briantilley Moderator Deep knowledge of bodies and lens; high level photography skills
07th Sep 2011
19
                         Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
SMMAssociates
07th Sep 2011
20
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
petie3 Silver Member
17th May 2012
22
Reply message RE: Stupid lens on D60? (500mm Cad)
MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas
12th Sep 2011
21

Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D60/D50/D40 (Public) topic #43826 Previous topic | Next topic