Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Digital postprocessing & workflow (Public) Nikon & Nikonians Imaging Software (Public) topic #9763
View in linear mode

Subject: "RE: Question about using Capture NX2" Previous topic | Next topic
JonK Moderator Awarded for his high level skills and in-depth knowledge in various areas, such as Wildlife, Landscape and Stage Photography Nikonian since 03rd Jul 2004Thu 27-Dec-12 10:25 PM
4468 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#6. "RE: Question about using Capture NX2"
In response to In response to 0


New York, US
          

I've been using Photoshop since 1990 (part of my day job). Soon after CNX2 came out I established a Photo Mechanic – CNX2 workflow, and that served me well for several years. About two years ago I switch to Lightroom both for the catalog ability and also for the more advanced processing that it offers over CNX2.

It takes an extra thirty seconds to initially dial in an image in Lightroom as compared to CNX2. That's expected, as Lightroom does not read the exact camera settings. But over time I have found this to be a blessing: by treating the RAW file as that, and tweaking all aspects of the data rather than starting from an arbitrary spot (the in-camera settings), I find I get a better result with exposure and especially with white balance — the Lightroom controls are more variable and more powerful.

The local selection controls are very good, too. The Lightroom Brush gives Control Points a good run for the money. Lightroom's image syncing and batching are much faster than CNX2.

Jon Kandel
A New York City Nikonian and Team Member
Please visit my website and critique the images!

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote

This is a hot, active topic!Question about using Capture NX2 [View all] , danshep Silver Member, Sun 23-Dec-12 06:23 AM
 
Subject Author Message Date ID
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
ecossephoto
23rd Dec 2012
1
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
fjhauke
23rd Dec 2012
2
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Pete Wilson Gold Member
23rd Dec 2012
3
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
ericbowles Moderator
23rd Dec 2012
4
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
robsb Platinum Member
27th Dec 2012
5
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
JonK Moderator
27th Dec 2012
6
Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Bravozulu Silver Member
28th Dec 2012
7
     Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
JonK Moderator
28th Dec 2012
8
     Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
JonK Moderator
29th Dec 2012
12
     Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
ericbowles Moderator
29th Dec 2012
9
          Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Bravozulu Silver Member
29th Dec 2012
10
               Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
ericbowles Moderator
29th Dec 2012
11
                    Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Bravozulu Silver Member
30th Dec 2012
13
                         Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
JonK Moderator
30th Dec 2012
14
                         Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
ericbowles Moderator
30th Dec 2012
15
                              Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Bravozulu Silver Member
30th Dec 2012
16
                                   Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
JonK Moderator
30th Dec 2012
17
                                   Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Bravozulu Silver Member
30th Dec 2012
18
                                        Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
jagdpanther Silver Member
31st Dec 2012
19
                                             Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
Gromit44
19th Jan 2013
21
                                   Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
piniongear
09th Jan 2013
20
                                        Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
robsb Platinum Member
27th Jan 2013
22
                                             Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
piniongear
27th Jan 2013
23
                                                  Reply message RE: Question about using Capture NX2
robsb Platinum Member
29th Jan 2013
24

Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Digital postprocessing & workflow (Public) Nikon & Nikonians Imaging Software (Public) topic #9763 Previous topic | Next topic


Take the Nikonians Tour and learn more about being a Nikonian Wiki /FAQ /Help Listen to our MP3 photography radio channels Find anything on Nikon and imaging technology - fast!

Copyright © Nikonians 2000, 2014
All Rights Reserved

Nikonians®, NikoScope® and NikoniansAcademy™ are trademarks owned by Nikonians.org.
Nikon®, Nikonos® and Nikkor® are registered trademarks of Nikon Corporation.