nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.

| |

Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising
Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Print Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #6774
View in threaded mode

Subject: "Older flash units on D3200" Previous topic | Next topic
OldNavy609   Albuquerque, US  Registered since 07th Feb 2012 Tue 25-Sep-12 06:01 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Older flash units on D3200"



I have an SB-20 and SB-28 and am wondering if I can use them on my D3200 without damaging the camera? I don't use flash very often (mostly for fill or interior shots). If I am unable to use either of these units, would you recommend the SB-400?
Thanks in advance.
Lee

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Leonard62 Gold Member Awarded for excellent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community, especially of Nikkor Lenses Writer Ribbon awarded for his contributions to the Nikonians Resources articles library   Hatboro, Pa, US  Nikonian since 15th Mar 2009 Tue 25-Sep-12 08:36 PM
3612 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#1. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 0
Tue 25-Sep-12 08:47 PM by Leonard62


I have the SB-28 and it works fine on the D3200.

However the D3200 will have to be in M mode so you can set the shutter sync speed. I use 1/125. You will need to set the aperture in A mode and then go back to M to take your flash photo.

The SB-28 will need to be in A mode. When you first turn the flash on the ISO display on the flash LCD will blink. Use the + or - button to set your ISO. It can only be set immediately after turning on the flash and while the ISO is blinking.

Now you can use the zoom button to set the lens focal length and the SEL button to set the lens aperture to match what you set the D3200 aperture to.

After you set the ISO, lens FL and aperture you will see a line of black squares directly above the distance scale in feet. The f stop you chose will be fine as long as your distance from camera to subject falls under the black squares. If they fall outside of your distance simply change the f stop on the flash and then the D3200 until they do.

You should get a perfectly exposed photo automatically as long as your f stop and ISO is set correctly and the distance falls anywhere under the black squares.

As a starting point and with a 50mm lens, ISO 400 and f5.6 set on both the D3200 and the SB-28, you should get good flash photos Automatically at any distance between 5 and 40 feet.

I don't have the SB-20 so I can't help you there. But the SB-28 is the newer flash and should be preferred.

edit: If you don't have the manual for the SB-28 you can down load it from the NikonUSA site.

Good Luck,
Len

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

OldNavy609   Albuquerque, US  Registered since 07th Feb 2012 Tue 25-Sep-12 09:09 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#2. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 1



Thank you so much for the information. I have a bid in for a SB-400 on Ebay, but I would still use the SB-28 if I needed extra "oomp". My real concern was that the SB-28 would damage the camera.
Again thank you so much for your time and help.
Good shooting,
Lee

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

gkaiseril Gold Member  Chicago, US  Nikonian since 28th Oct 2005 Tue 25-Sep-12 09:50 PM
6739 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#3. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 2



You can use Photo Strobe Trigger Voltages for older flashes other than Nikon flashes. Some flashes actually used the HV circuit and that could eventually damage the shutter release contacts.

George
My Nikonian Galleries

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

OldNavy609   Albuquerque, US  Registered since 07th Feb 2012 Wed 26-Sep-12 08:36 PM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#4. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 1



Thanks so much, Len. I copied your post to a Word Pad document and did as you suggested. The test shots turned out great.

I do have a "newbie" question. Will the built-in flash on the D3200 always pop up, or is there a way of using the SB-28 without that happening?

Thanks again,
Lee

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas   US  Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007 Thu 27-Sep-12 12:00 AM
27432 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#5. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 4



Hi Lee,

If you use P, S, A, or M exposure modes, the built in Speedlight won't pop up until you manually press the flash button to turn it on.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

OldNavy609   Albuquerque, US  Registered since 07th Feb 2012 Thu 27-Sep-12 12:18 AM
383 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#6. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 5



>Hi Lee,
>
>If you use P, S, A, or M exposure modes, the built in
>Speedlight won't pop up until you manually press the flash
>button to turn it on.
>Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!
Thanks for the info. I feel really dumb, after I posted, I started experimenting and found out the answer. I'm still a newbie, even though I'm an "old guy".

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas   US  Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007 Thu 27-Sep-12 08:04 AM
27432 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
#7. "RE: Older flash units on D3200"
In response to Reply # 6



Hi Lee,

>I feel really dumb, after I posted, I
>started experimenting and found out the answer.

Don't!
Remember: The only dumb question is the one that was never asked!
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

  

Alert Print | Reply | Quote | Top

Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR NIKON CAMERA Nikon D5000/D3000 series (Public) topic #6774 Previous topic | Next topic