nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.


Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

Newbie Question - Shutter Release Disabled

MeanWoman

CA
2 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
MeanWoman Registered since 19th Sep 2012
Wed 19-Sep-12 02:08 AM

Hi.. new to Nikon & DSLR & this forum.. sorry for this very newbie question but I'm pretty paranoid since I'm such a newbie to DSLRs, and I'm not sure wheather this is a normal error message.

My D3100 displays the message "Shutter Released Disabled. Recharge Battery.", however.. I've only been using it for maybe 40-50 shots and 3-5 mins of video.. is this normal for the original battery?

I've only had the camera for about 2-3 days and charged it fully once..but I don't want to wait till after my refund period is up if there is something faulty with the camera/battery.

I'm hoping to get some insight from all of you experienced users..
Thanks in advance, any help is much appreciated!

Regards,

MW

MEMcD

US
28360 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: Newbie Question - Shutter Release Disabled" | In response to Reply # 0

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007
Wed 19-Sep-12 03:22 AM

Hi _____,

Welcome to Nikonians!
Congratulations on your new D3100.

Camera batteries need several charge and discharge cycles before they reach maximum capacity.

Were you using Live View to capture the 40-50 images?
The reason I ask, is Live View drinks batteries.

BTW:

We always encourage our members to fill in their real first and last names, and have made that issue a part of our Terms of Use.

The intent is to foster a community of "real people" instead of
mysterious web-personalities with anonymous screen names. Doing this helps to establish and maintain a safe, civil and friendly environment.

Thanks in advance.
Good Luck and Enjoy your Nikons!

Best Regards,
Marty

cwils02

HIXSON, US
823 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: Newbie Question - Shutter Release Disabled" | In response to Reply # 0

cwils02 Gold Member Nikonian since 19th Apr 2012
Thu 20-Sep-12 03:45 AM

Mean,

I don't have any experience with a D3100; However, I would do what the error message says, and recharge the battery. Then continue to use the camera, and see if it happens again. You should probably try to see if the camera is faulty first, but I recommend always having a backup battery.

Hopefully, others will be familiar with this particular problem.

Charlie

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

Covey22

US
11358 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: Newbie Question - Shutter Release Disabled" | In response to Reply # 0

Covey22 Moderator Expert in various fields including aviation photography Awarded for his contributions to the Resources and The Nikonian eZine Charter Member
Thu 20-Sep-12 02:42 PM

Battery doesn't sound like it's fully holding the charge. I always buy at least one spare for each of my cameras (for the power hungry ones I'll get two). Get a good battery, confirm it's not the camera or the charger that's the problem.

"Toodle-loo from Covey22!"

-Armando
Nikonians Team
Nikonians News - Fresh Everyday!

The Covey Blog!

My Plan:

Get out of the car.
Get closer to the subject.
Pick the right mid-tone this time.

See My Nikonians Gallery

John Bertotti

Garretson, US
796 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: Newbie Question - Shutter Release Disabled" | In response to Reply # 3

John Bertotti Gold Member Nikonian since 01st Jul 2012
Thu 20-Sep-12 03:39 PM

My D3200 documentation said you can permanently damage the battery if you discharge it to far. When the battery is to low my camera shutter is disabled as well, the way it was designed. I can only guess that yours is the same.

Visit my Nikonians gallery.

MeanWoman

CA
2 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: Newbie Question - Shutter Release Disabled" | In response to Reply # 4

MeanWoman Registered since 19th Sep 2012
Thu 20-Sep-12 03:57 PM

Thanks for all of your helpful responses.

The battery is the original genuine battery that came with the purchase, so I'm hoping it's because I haven't gone through a few charge/discharge cycles.

I'm glad to hear that the D3200 has a feature that disables the shutter to prevent battery damage - at least I know it's probably not a defective camera as I can't imagine the D3100 would be that far off from D3200...

Hopefully in a few days I'm able to see improvement in the charge of the battery...

Thanks again!! I'm not as anxious anymore

MW

G