nikonians

Even though we ARE Nikon lovers,we are NOT affiliated with Nikon Corp. in any way.


Sign up Login
Home Forums Articles Galleries News Workshops Shop Recommended
members
All members Wiki Contests Vouchers Apps Newsletter THE NIKONIAN™ Magazines Podcasts Fundraising

RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus

Crisol

Barcelona, ES
37 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author
Crisol Registered since 15th Apr 2013
Mon 15-Apr-13 05:22 PM

Hello

I am new here, and recently buyed a Nikon D3200. Before I had a Nikon N70 and from this time I had a 28-300 AF, but as it has no focus motor, I need to use manual focusing.

I also have some old AIS lenses, but I,m waiting for an emulator chip:

http://www.ebay.es/itm/230779049749?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

For manual focusing, any of you has experience with this three helping devices:

Hoodman H-LPP3 HoodLoupe 3.0 Professional

http://www.ebay.es/itm/330768342127?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

ViewFinder View Finder mirino LCD 2,8x 3''

http://www.ebay.es/itm/281071097302?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

180° level split image Focusing Screen for Nikon D3100

http://www.ebay.es/itm/251038737028?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Wich one will be better for manual focus?.

JosephK

Seattle, WA, US
6160 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#1. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 0

JosephK Silver Member Fellow Ribbon awarded for his excellent and frequent contributions and sharing his in-depth knowledge and experience with the community in the Nikonians spirit. Nikonian since 17th Apr 2006
Mon 15-Apr-13 07:58 PM | edited Mon 15-Apr-13 08:00 PM by JosephK

For focus, I would expect only the screen to help. However, I do question the quality of a $25 screen, as opposed to
http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/item--Nikon-D3100-D3200-D5100-Focusing-Screen--prod_D3100.html

I have the Hood Loupe, and it works great for viewing the LCD is bright light. But for focus, the LCD will only show you how well or poorly you did after the fact.

---------+---------+---------+---------+---------+
Joseph K
Seattle, WA, USA

D700, D200, D70S, 24-70mm f/2.8, VR 70-200mm f/2.8 II,
50mm f/1.4 D, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX

MEMcD

US
28676 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#2. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 0

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007
Tue 16-Apr-13 02:16 AM

Hi Pau,

You might want to try using Live View to focus.
I would recommend using a tripod when using Live View.

Best Regards,
Marty

Crisol

Barcelona, ES
37 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#3. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 1

Crisol Registered since 15th Apr 2013
Tue 16-Apr-13 11:47 AM

>For focus, I would expect only the screen to help. However,
>I do question the quality of a $25 screen, as opposed to
>http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/item--Nikon-D3100-D3200-D5100-Focusing-Screen--prod_D3100.html
>
>I have the Hood Loupe, and it works great for viewing the LCD
>is bright light. But for focus, the LCD will only show you
>how well or poorly you did after the fact.
>
>---------+---------+---------+---------+---------+
>Joseph K
>Seattle, WA, USA
>
>D700, D200, D70S, 24-70mm f/2.8, VR 70-200mm f/2.8 II,
>50mm f/1.4 D, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX
>

>
Thans for your recommendation. It really look like katzeye is a better option, but it doesn´t seems reasonable to spend $200 on a $400 camera body, that why I asked for a cheaper focus screen. Once I get a D7100 (I hope in one o two years), I might consider it reasonable.

Crisol

Barcelona, ES
37 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#4. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 2

Crisol Registered since 15th Apr 2013
Tue 16-Apr-13 11:50 AM

I have to learn to use live view yet, and first I have to get a good tripod. My old one was stolen together with 2 olympus cameras I had.

MEMcD

US
28676 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#5. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 4

MEMcD Moderator In depth knowledge in various areas Nikonian since 24th Dec 2007
Tue 16-Apr-13 01:55 PM

Hi Pau,

Sorry to hear of the theft of your gear.
When you get a chance give Live View a try.

Best Regards,
Marty

pjonesCET

Martinsville, US
752 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#6. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 2

pjonesCET Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 11th Jul 2011
Wed 17-Apr-13 03:21 AM

>Hi Pau,
>
>You might want to try using Live View to focus.
>I would recommend using a tripod when using Live View.

on my 3200 I can't make the display bright enough when using Outside. and using inside even when I had to use it for movies. I wasn't particular impressed not enough brightness and contrast if you adjust the Brightness then it sort of washes out. Plus the fact that using Live eats Battery power like nobody's business.

Phillip M Jones, CET
pjonescet@comcast.net
http://www.phillipmjones.net/

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


https://www.flickr.com/photos/pjonescet/
http://www.phillipjones-cet.net

Crisol

Barcelona, ES
37 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#7. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 6

Crisol Registered since 15th Apr 2013
Sat 04-May-13 04:42 PM

Hello again Phillip

I have been trying to focus with MF with 4 old lenses, without very good results (500 F8 N, 300mm f/4.5 AiS, 28-300 Vivitar, and a 100-400 Vivitar). Best result using live view with maximum magnification, specially with the 500 F8 N.

Afterwards I realized that my focus target whats not a good one.

Been thining on buying one of these two:

http://www.ebay.es/itm/281071097302?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

http://www.ebay.es/itm/360527781413?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Tested one of those manual screen on a D5100 of a friend who bought it and not so good results unless you have a lens with a big aperture (less than F5.3).

By the moment and using a modified carboard box to protect the screen from the sun.

pjonesCET

Martinsville, US
752 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to send message via AOL IM

#8. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 7

pjonesCET Gold Member Donor Ribbon awarded for his support to the Fundraising Campaign 2014 Nikonian since 11th Jul 2011
Sun 05-May-13 08:23 PM

The first item sounds interesting.

I miss the Focus Markers that were on the D3000 they were 10 times darker than the focus Markers (in the view finder) you could definitely tell when you had the Diopter setting on Camera right. On the 3200 They are so Faint they are difficult to see.

Phillip M Jones, CET
pjonescet@comcast.net
http://www.phillipmjones.net/

Visit my Nikonians gallery.


https://www.flickr.com/photos/pjonescet/
http://www.phillipjones-cet.net

Crisol

Barcelona, ES
37 posts

Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this author

#9. "RE: splitimage focusing screen for manual focus" | In response to Reply # 8

Crisol Registered since 15th Apr 2013
Thu 30-May-13 02:50 PM

It is very interesting and a lot cheaper that other options.

By now I am using a black cardbox when there is too much sunlight.

G