Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby MASTER YOUR TOOLS - Hardware & Software Nikon Speedlights & Lighting topic #59255
View in threaded mode

Subject: "Pondering Which Flash to Buy" Previous topic | Next topic
Fortkentdad Registered since 01st Sep 2012Sat 01-Sep-12 06:19 AM
217 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Pondering Which Flash to Buy"

Fort Kent, CA

I'm just getting started in the DSLR hobby. I have an old Nikon SLR which I tended to leave in the "auto-everything" mode in part due to the cost of film and developing, the delay in waiting to see how things turned out, and being happy with the pictures I was taking in the auto-everything mode.

I bought a D5100 earlier this summer and am now beginning to get past the auto stage and starting to learn how to use the camera in variety of other modes. Still a ways to go before I'll dial up the M setting but using the A and S settings more and mroe.

I figure it is about time I add a flash and have been doing some on line research to find out which flash will be best. I had to get over the sticker shock of a new SB700 at $400 at our local camera shop. It is available online in Canada for $330+ shipping.

So I thought I'd look at the alternatives.

I initially was impressed with the specs on some of the ebay and amazon offerings, but found that there are many cheap chinese made flashes. If I was to go that way I'd go with a Yongnuo 565ex for about $150. But I'm concerned about the QC after reading the negative reviews on line. Still there are satisfied customers who say "why pay more?".