Go to a  "printer friendly" view of this message which allow an easy print Printer-friendly copy Go to the page which allows you to send this topic link and a message to a friend Email this topic to a friend
Forums Lobby GET TO KNOW YOUR CAMERA & MASTER IT Nikon D60/D50/D40 (Public) topic #24709
View in threaded mode

Subject: "Difference Between D50 and D40 , D40x" Previous topic | Next topic
louischeng328 Registered since 06th Jan 2008Thu 10-Jan-08 03:56 AM
11 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profile
"Difference Between D50 and D40 , D40x"

Markham, CA

HI!

I am a new member and i'm a beginner. My dad gave me his old D50 and i heard it's the old version of D40 and D40x.

So is there any difference between the two? and most importantly, are the lenses of D40 or D40x be used on D50? Because i want to buy a new lense for my D50.

Thank Yu everyone!

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
MotoMannequin Moderator Awarded for his extraordinary skills in landscape and wildlife photography Nikonian since 11th Jan 2006Thu 10-Jan-08 05:45 AM
8581 posts Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin    Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to send message via AOL IM
#1. "RE: Difference Between D50 and D40 , D40x"
In response to Reply # 0

Livermore, CA, US

The D50 is not an older D40 or D40x, although those 2 models seem to have replaced it in the lineup.

The key differences:
- D50 has an autofocus motor built into the camera body. Neither the D40 nor the D40x has this motor, which ultimately means the D50 will autofocus on all Nikon AF lenses, while D40/x requires newer Nikon AF-S lenses for autofocus.